About this exhibition catalogue

Fujiko Nakaya’s collaboration with nonhuman forces, such as water and wind, have come to define a unique practice that spans painting, drawing, video and sculpture. One of the formost artists to work with video, Nakaya (b. 1933) gained prominence in the 1960s as a member of the New York-based collective Experiments in Arts and Technology (E.A.T.) and became internationally renowned for her fog sculptures. Driven by early ecological concerns, Nakaya’s work deals with water and air – mediums that have particular resonance in the face of the climate crisis.

Published by Sarah Johanna Theurer with Andrea Lissoni and Anne-Marie Duguet

With contributions by Bernard Blisténe, Anne Carson, Anne-Marie Duguet, Frances Dyson, Anett Holzheid, Marianne Hultman, Andrea Lisson, Isabella Maidment, Julie Martin, Jen Mergel, Fujiko Nakaya, Stephen O’Malley, Philippe Rahm, Reiko Setsuda, Sarah Johanna Theurer, Bill Viola and Catherine Wood.

Design: Katharina Köhler

The catalogue is available at the museum box office and in the Walther König bookshop. For shipping, please contact us at the following address: versand@hausderkunst.de

Shipping within Germany is free of charge, shipping within the EU costs 16€.


German and English
45 € (6 €)

HDK Fujiko Nakaya Ausstellungskatalog Cover