The live-exhibition by artist and composer Pan Daijing (b. 1991, Guiyang, China) encompasses choreography, architectural intervention, sound, and moving images. Her largest solo exhibition to date will manifest as an ever-evolving environ­ment. It invites the audience on a journey that spans the entire Westgalerie and adjacent spaces inside and outside the building.

Daijing’s works develop a symbiotic relationship with the spaces in which they unfold. At Haus der Kunst the artist creates a series of installations that integrate architectural elements of the building, reroute the gaze, and open up unseen spaces. In a choreography exploring stillness and liveness, a performance ensemble activates a process of transformation. The durational performances throughout the six weeks of the exhibition aim to distort oppositions between inside and outside and the perception and velocity of time. The audience is invited to immerse themselves, following or erasing traces left by the performers.

In conjunction with the exhibition, a monograph on Pan Daijing will be published in collaboration with Tai Kwun Contemporary.

“Mute” is commissioned by Haus der Kunst München. With the support of Y.D.C. and JNBY. With additional support for the performance by Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München, Goethe-Institut; and Kemmler Foundation, an initiative of Kemmler Kemmler GmbH.

Curated by Sarah Johanna Theurer with Lydia Antoniou, Emma Enderby, and Andrea Lissoni

Image: © Pan Daijing

Pan Daijing. Mute

Upcoming events:

Die Live-Ausstellung der Künstlerin und Komponistin Pan Daijing (geb. 1991, Guiyang, China) umfasst Choreografie, architektonische Intervention, Klang und Video. Ihre bisher größte Einzelausstellung kann wie eine Landschaft aus installativen und performativen Elementen erkundet werden. Sie lädt das Publikum zu einer Reise ein, die sich über die gesamte Westgalerie und über die Grenzen des Gebäudes hinaus erstreckt.

Daijings Arbeiten entwickeln eine symbiotische Beziehung zu den Räumen, in denen sie sich entfalten. Die für das Haus der Kunst geschaffenen Installationen integrieren Material und architektonische Elemente des Gebäudes, richten den Blick neu aus und erschließen bisher unbeachtete Bereiche des Gebäudes. In einer Choreografie, die Stille und Lebendigkeit erforscht, setzt ein vielköpfiges Performance-Ensemble zu Beginn der Ausstellung einen Prozess der Transformation in Gang. Die darauffolgenden Aktivierungen, die während der gesamten sechswöchigen Laufzeit der Ausstellung stattfinden, verschieben Gegensätze wie Innen und Außen, oder verlangsamen die Geschwindigkeit der Zeit. Das Publikum ist eingeladen einzutauchen und diesen Spuren zu folgen oder sie zu verwischen.

In Verbindung mit der Ausstellung wird eine Monografie über Pan Daijing in Zusammenarbeit mit Tai Kwun Contemporary ver­öffentlicht.

„Mute“ ist eine Auftragsarbeit von Haus der Kunst München. Mit zusätzlicher Unterstützung von Y.D.C. und JNBY. Die Performance ist zusätzlich unterstützt durch das Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München, das Goethe-Institut und die Kemmler Foundation, eine Initiative von Kemmler Kemmler GmbH. 

Kuratiert von Sarah Johanna Theurer mit Lydia Antoniou, Emma Enderby und Andrea Lissoni

Abbildung: © Pan Daijing 

Pan Daijing. Mute

Nächste Veranstaltungen: