When a young man went crazy on the dance floor at P1 and you thought: he looks like Mick Jagger. Then it was Mick Jagger.
— Klaus Gunschmann, long-time doorman, about Munich's most famous disco

Established in 1950 as a studio restaurant and venue for the Munich art scene in the east wing of Haus der Kunst, P1 has developed into one of the most desirable locations in the club landscape in Germany since the mid-1980s. Whitney Houston's first concert in front of a European audience, a party for Tina Turner where counterfeit D-Mark notes rained from the ceiling, footballers in love, scandals, and spectacular celebrations there are countless stories about P1. On the occasion of its 40th anniversary – the restaurant was opened in its current form in 1984 – Haus der Kunst now dedicates an exhibition to the club as part of the “Archives in Residence” exhibition series.

P1 is one of the few clubs, if not the only nightspot, that lives next door to an art exhibition house. Not unlike Haus der Kunst, P1 continually reinvents itself. To this day, it is an essential part of international club culture and a popular destination for different generations of night owls.

Clubs are spaces for artistic expression and experimentation, places for participation and identity formation, venues for encounters and desire. Sound and lighting, dance floor, and lounging area create open spaces in which guests are transported from the real world of everyday life into their own reality of an endless night.

The exhibition in the Archiv Galerie of Haus der Kunst, which was developed on the basis of archive material, also opens up such a world to visitors. The design of the room is, on the one hand, a reminiscence of the initial location. On the other hand, the room elements are based on the minimalist design of the Milanese designer Matteo Thun, who designed the club in the 2000s.

The idea of participation continues retrospectively in the exhibition. Haus der Kunst invites visitors to share their personal P1 stories and memorabilia and thus expand the exhibition digitally. As part of the exhibition, a magazine about P1 and its history and stories will be published.

There are countless stories about Munich's most famous disco. And we want to collect even more. As a visitor, you are invited to share your personal P1 experiences and memorabilia with us and thus contribute to the exhibition. Send us your favourite and most exciting stories by email (p1@hausderkunst.de), or drop them in the note box in the exhibition. There are cards available for you to use. A selection of the contributions we receive by 31.10.24 will be featured in a special magazine.

Curated by Sabine Brantl and Lydia Antoniou.

The exhibition “Glamour and History. 40 Years of P1” is a cooperation with P1.

Upcoming events:

Wenn im P1 ein junger Mann auf der Tanzfläche ausflippte und man dachte: Der sieht aus wie Mick Jagger. Dann war es Mick Jagger.
— Klaus Gunschmann, langjähriger Türsteher, über Münchens berühmteste Disko

1950 als „Atelier-Restaurant“ und Lokal der Münchner Kunstszene im Ostflügel des Haus der Kunst eingerichtet, entwickelte sich das P1 seit Mitte der 1980er Jahre zu einem der begehrenswertesten Orten der Club-Landschaft in Deutschland. Über das P1 gibt es unzählige Geschichten: Whitney Houstons erstes Konzert vor europäischem Publikum, eine Party für Tina Turner, bei der falsche D-Mark Scheine von der Decke regneten, verliebte Fußballer, Skandale und spektakuläre Feste. Anlässlich seines 40. Geburtstages – 1984 wurde das Lokal in seiner heutigen Form eröffnet – widmet das Haus der Kunst dem Club nun im Rahmen der Ausstellungsreihe „Archives in Residence“ eine Ausstellung.

Das P1 ist einer der wenigen Clubs, wenn nicht sogar der einzige, der Tür an Tür mit einem Kunstausstellungshaus lebt. Genau wie das Haus der Kunst, erfindet sich das P1 immer wieder neu. Bis heute ist es fester Bestandteil internationaler Clubkultur und Sehnsuchtsort unterschiedlicher Generationen von Nachtschwärmer*innen.

Clubs sind Räume des künstlerischen Ausdrucks und Experimentierens, Orte der Teilhabe und Identitätsbildung, Schauplätze von Begegnung und Begehren. Durch Sound und Beleuchtung, Tanzfläche und Liegewiese werden Freiräume geschaffen, in denen die Besucher*innen aus der realen Welt des Alltags in die eigene Wirklichkeit einer endlosen Nacht geleitet werden.

Auch die Ausstellung in der Archiv Galerie des Haus der Kunst, die auf Grundlage von Archivmaterial entwickelt wurde, eröffnet den Besucher*innen eine solche Welt. So ist die Gestaltung des Raumes zum einen eine Erinnerung an den früheren, anfänglichen Standort. Zum anderen orientieren sich die Raumelemente an das minimalistische Design des Mailänder Designers Matteo Thun, der das Lokal in den 2000er Jahren umgestaltet hatte.

Über Münchens berühmteste Disko gibt es unzählige Geschichten. Und wir wollen noch mehr sammeln. Als Besucher*innen sind Sie eingeladen, Ihre persönlichen P1-Erlebnisse und Erinnerungsstücke mit uns zu teilen und dadurch an der Ausstellung mitzuwirken. Schicken Sie uns ihre schönsten und spannendsten Geschichten per E-Mail (p1@hausderkunst.de) oder werfen Sie sie in die Zettelbox in der Ausstellung. Dort liegen Karten bereit, die Sie hierfür verwenden können. Eine Auswahl der Beiträge, die wir bis zum 31.10.24 erhalten, stellen wir in einem speziellen Magazin vor.

Kuratiert von Sabine Brantl und Lydia Antoniou.

Die Ausstellung „Glamour und Geschichte. 40 Jahre P1” ist eine Kooperation mit dem P1.

Nächste Veranstaltungen: