Thomas Struth: Figure Ground

Talks & Tours 23.05.17, 6:30 pm

Talks & Tours is a tour of the exhibition “Thomas Struth: Figure Ground” with Frank Bungarten, one of Germany's leading classical guitarists, and Ulrich Wilmes, chief curator at Haus der Kunst. Instead of a conventional tour, Talks & Tours offers a conversation in which Frank Bungarten discusses, from his own perspective, various aspects in the artist's work in conversation with Ulrich Wilmes and exhibition visitors.

Frank Bungarten and Thomas Struth are united not only through a long friendship, but also their close artistic collaboration. In Haus der Kunst in 2003, for instance, they exhibited a collective video work, “Read This Like Seeing It For The First Time." Over an extended period, Thomas Struth filmed the lessons in Frank Bungarten's guitar class using two cameras simultaneously and later projected the recordings onto separate screens. The dissimilar ways of seeing and different perspectives condensed the scenes into intense moments of a learning process characterized by the teacher-student relationship set in the context of artistic personality development. 
The tour explores questions such as how music influences the creative process and how acoustic and visual perception affect the reception of works of fine art.

Frank Bungarten 
Since the age of 23, when the old master Andrés Segovia presented him with the first prize of the Granada Guitar Competition, Frank Bungarten has been performing concerts in forty countries around the world, often on behalf of the Goethe Institut. His systematic CD recordings are regarded as a reference and now constitute a comprehensive and independent body of work. ECHO Klassik has named Bungarten “Instrumentalist of the Year” twice. Additionally, he has worked as a part-time professor, teaching students from all over the world, at the Lucerne School of Music and continues to teach at the School of Music, Theater and Media in Hannover.

buy a ticket

Thomas Struth: Figure Ground

23.05.17, 6:30 pm

Photo Marion Vogel

Stretch your view


Stretch your view

Thomas Struth: Figure Ground

Talks & Tours 23.05.17, 18.30 Uhr

Talks & Tours ist ein Rundgang durch die Ausstellung "Thomas Struth: Figure Ground" mit dem Gitarristen Frank Bungarten und Ulrich Wilmes, Hauptkurator am Haus der Kunst.
Talks & Tours bietet statt einer konventionellen Führung ein Gespräch, bei dem Frank Bungarten aus der Perspektive des Musikers mit Ulrich Wilmes und den Besuchern verschiedene Aspekte im Werk des Künstlers Thomas Struth diskutiert. 

Frank Bungarten und Thomas Struth verbindet nicht nur eine langjährige Freundschaft, sondern auch eine intensive künstlerische Zusammenarbeit. So entstand 2003 die auch im Haus der Kunst ausgestellte Videoarbeit „Read This Like Seeing It For The First Time". Thomas Struth hat die Beobachtung des Unterrichts in der Gitarrenklasse von Frank Bungarten mit zwei Videokameras simultan gefilmt und in Echtzeit auf separate Leinwände projiziert. Die verschiedenen Sehweisen und unterschiedlichen Perspektiven verdichten die Szenen zu intensiven Momenten eines vom Lehrer-Schüler-Verhältnis geprägten Lernprozesses im Rahmen künstlerischer Persönlichkeitsentwicklung. 

Der Rundgang geht u.a. den Fragen nach, welchen Einfluss Musik auf kreative Schaffensprozesse und welche Auswirkungen akustische und visuelle Wahrnehmung auf die Rezeption von Werken Bildender Kunst hat.

Frank Bungarten ist Deutschlands führender klassischer Gitarrist. Seit er im Alter von 23 Jahren aus den Händen des Altmeisters Andrés Segovia den ersten Preis im Gitarrenwettbewerb von Granada erhielt, konzertierte er in vierzig Ländern der Erde, vielfach im Auftrag des Goethe Instituts. Seine systematischen CD-Einspielungen gelten als Referenz und bilden mittlerweile ein umfassendes Gesamtwerk. Zweimal wurde er dafür mit dem ECHO Klassik als „Instrumentalist des Jahres“ ausgezeichnet. Er unterrichtet als Professor Studierende aus aller Welt, zeitweilig an der Musikhochschule Luzern und bis heute an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover. 

In deutscher Sprache
Eintritt: 13 Euro

Ticket kaufen

Thomas Struth: Figure Ground

23.05.17, 18.30 Uhr

Foto Marion Vogel

Stretch your view


Stretch your view