"Monika Werkstatt"

Concert 30.04.16

"Monika Werkstatt" with Natalie Beridze TBA, Lucrecia Dalt, Gudrun Gut, Danielle de Picciotto, Sonae, and special guest Gut & Irmler.

Berlin-based label Monika Enterprise presents a new series called "Monika Werkstatt". The Werkstatt will offer discussions of latest productions, introduce and debate women's role in electronic music production and the relationship between programming and improvisation. One of the main foci is interacting wit the audience and presentation of works in progress. Space for development will be a strong theme, but hits and fun won't be left out. All participating musicians perform solo and then improvise together, premiering collaborations and composing/improvising in real time, culminating in the duo Gut & Irmler.

Berlin musician, composer, producer and broadcaster, Gudrun Gut (formerly of Einstürzende Neubauten, Mania D!, Malaria, and other bands) is a seminal figure in the German music scene and founder of Monika Enterprise. Through her interdisciplinary practice and regular output of recordings and performance activity, she has maintained a high profile in Europe for more than 30 years.

Her pursuit of avant-garde sound brought Colombian artist Lucrecia Dalt to Spain and then to Germany, where she currently resides. While highly technical, Dalt's music maintains a quantity of emotionality, merging accessible melody with abstract structures, handcrafted effects and sampling.

Natalie Beridze TBA is a Georgian music composer and songwriter. Beridze was born in Tbilisi, Georgia, in 1979. She has been performing live concerts worldwide since 2004 and is known as the first Georgian female electronic music artist. In addition to her solo projects she has collaborated with artists such as Thomas Brinkmann, AGF (Antye Greie), Gudrun Gut, Marcus Schmickler, Nika Machaidze, a.k.a. Nikakoi, and Ryuichi Sakamoto. Besides her contribution to Georgian electronic music and songwriting, Beridze works on compositions for acoustic instruments, orchestra, and choir.

Danielle de Picciotto is an American-born artist, musician, and filmmaker. She was born in Tacoma, Washington, but now lives and works in Berlin, Germany. In 1989 de Picciotto, along withDr. Motte, founded the first Berlin Love Parade. A member of the band Space Cowboys until 1995, she was instrumental in Berlin's Club-Art-Culture movement through 2000, in which she was active as both an artist and curator. In 1998 she founded "The Institute", a gallery, in which she represented more than 150 artists, musicians and writers. She continues to stage exhibitions and events with Berlin artists, musicians and DJs in the international arena. De Picciotto just released her new album "Tacoma" on Monika Enterprise's sister label Moabit.

Sonae put out her first release in August 2012 with the two-track EP "Cologne" on ambient and electronica label "A Strangely Isolated Place". Her remix of "Saint" by Markus Guentner followed in 2013, a compilation release for "Entmutigt", and "Song of Hate and Anger" was included as the last track on Markus Guentner's exclusive mixtape for Substrata Festival which also featured artists such as Ismael Pinkler, Gustavo Lamas, and Rafael Anton Irisarri.

Jochen Irmler was a founding member of legendary German krautrock band "Faust" in 1971. His project with Gudrun Gut was beautifully introduced by Max Dax in 2015: "The notion that Jochen Irmler and Gudrun Gut would one day merge the best of their two worlds was never quite to be expected. We hear Irmler's meandering, wistfully psychedelic organ sound, seeming to come from a different era. (…) Both approaches to music – Irmler's Krautrock-informed willingness to explore on the part; Gut's structured and technoid Berliner discipline (which is practically a contradiction in itself) – are conjoined in glistening beauty on a collaborative album '500m'".

The event is part of the series Improvise NOW!!! Part 1 – Into the Machine: From Turntable to Laptop

"Improvise NOW!!!" is a cooperation with the Goethe-Institut.


"Monika Werkstatt"

30.04.16

Stretch your view


Stretch your view


Concert

Moritz von Oswald Trio feat. Tony Allen & Max Loderbauer

29.04.16

Moritz von Oswald's longtime collaborator Max Loderbauer and Nigerian drumming legend Tony Allen round out the latest configuration of the Moritz von Oswald Trio. MORE


Concert, Video

EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN

27.06.15

As part of the exhibition '''Geniale Dilletanten' [Brilliant Dilletantes]: Subculture in Germany in the 1980s", the Berlin band EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN will perform in concert. MORE


Concert, Video, Video

Double concert: Ornament und Verbrechen / Die Goldenen Zitronen

08.10.15

Under the auspices of the exhibition "'Genial Dilletantes'. Subculture in Germany in the 1980s", the bands Ornament und Verbrechen and Die Goldenen Zitronen performed together for the first time. MORE


Concert, Video

Hanne Darboven: 24 Gesänge

04.12.15

As part of the Hanne Darboven exhibition the organ concert "24 Gesänge" was performed in the Markuskirche. Organist: Alexander Moosbrugger, 04.12.15. MORE


Concert

FMP: The Living Music - concerts

Friday, 05.05, 8 pm

In the frame of the exhibition “Free Music Production / FMP: The Living Music,” Haus der Kunst, in collaboration with Peter Brötzmann, has curated two days in the spirit of the Total Music Meeting and the Workshop Freie Musik. MORE


Concert

FMP: The Living Music – Concerts

Saturday, 06.05

In the frame of the exhibition “Free Music Production / FMP: The Living Music,” Haus der Kunst, in collaboration with Peter Brötzmann, has curated two days in the spirit of the Total Music Meeting and the Workshop Freie Musik. MORE


Concert series

"ECM – A Cultural Archaeology": Concert Series

The first major exhibition on the legendary Munich-based record label ECM was accompanied by a concert series featuring renowned performers. MORE


EXHIBITION

ECM

23.11.12 – 10.02.13

The label ECM (Edition of Contemporary Music) was founded in 1969 by Manfred Eicher in Munich in order to record, produce and publish avant-garde music. The exhibition focuses on the expansive cultural landscape in which ECM has worked since 1969. MORE


conversation, Video

Improvising Africa

29.04.16

Talk and music with Eddie Hatitye (Music in Africa Foundation) and Stefan Schneider (ex-Kreidler und To Rococo Rot). MORE


conversation, Video

The Sound and Vision of Amon Düül II

30.04.16

Talk with Tobias Pettersson, author of "Amon Düül II and the birth of Krautrock," and Alexander Kluge, who will contribute and discuss his film on improvisation. MORE


Concert series

ECM — Sound samples

The exhibition "ECM — A Cultural Archaeology" was accompanied by a concert series featuring renowned performers. Here, you will find sound samples of all the participating musicians and ensembles. MORE

"Monika Werkstatt"

Konzert 30.04.16

"Monika Werkstatt" mit Natalie Beridze TBA, Lucrecia Dalt, Gudrun Gut, Danielle de Picciotto, Sonae sowie Special Guest Gut & Irmler.

Das Berliner Plattenlabel Monika Enterprise präsentiert eine neue Reihe mit dem Titel "Monika Werkstatt": Hier werden die neuesten Produktionen diskutiert, es geht um die Rolle von Frauen in der elektronischen Musikproduktion sowie um das Verhältnis von Programmierung und Improvisation. Der Akzent liegt dabei auf der Interaktion mit dem Publikum sowie der Präsentation von aktuellen Projekten: dem "Work in Progress". Raum für Entwicklung ist ein großes Thema, aber auch Hits werden gespielt, schließlich soll der Spaß nicht zu kurz kommen. Alle teilnehmenden Musiker treten zunächst solo auf und improvisieren dann gemeinsam, präsentieren erstmals neue Kooperationen und komponieren bzw. improvisieren in Echtzeit, wobei das Duo Gut & Irmler den krönenden Abschluss macht.

Die Berliner Musikerin, Komponistin, Produzentin und Moderatorin Gudrun Gut (ehemals Einstürzende Neubauten, Mania D!, Malaria u.a.) ist eine herausragende Figur der deutschen Musikszene und Gründerin von Monika Enterprise. Durch ihren interdisziplinären Ansatz sowie ihre regelmäßigen Veröffentlichungen und Auftritte hat sie sich über 30 Jahre lang eine besondere Stellung in der europäischen Musik bewahrt.

Die Georgierin Natalie Beridze TBA (geb. 1979 in Tiflis) ist Komponistin und Songschreiberin. Seit 2004 gibt sie weltweit Live-Konzerte und wurde als erste georgische Künstlerin für elektronische Musik bekannt. Neben ihren Soloprojekten hat sie mit Künstlern wie Thomas Brinkmann, AGF (Antye Greie), Gudrun Gut, Marcus Schmickler, Nika Machaidze a.k.a. Nikakoi und Ryuichi Sakamoto zusammengearbeitet. Außer georgischer elektronischer Musik und Liedern komponiert Beridze für akustische Instrumente, Orchester und Chor.

Danielle de Picciotto ist Künstlerin, Musikerin und Filmemacherin. Geboren in Tacoma, Washington, lebt und arbeitet sie seit Langem in Berlin. 1989 begründete de Picciotto zusammen mit Dr. Motte die erste Berliner Love Parade. Bis 1995 war sie Mitglied der Band Space Cowboys, gründete 1997 mit Gudrun Gut den legendären Ocean Club und war bis 2000 maßgeblich an der Berliner Clubkunstkultur-Bewegung als Künstlerin und Kuratorin beteiligt. 1998 gründete sie "Das Institut", eine Galerie, in der sie über 150 Künstler, Musiker und Schriftsteller vertrat, und präsentiert bis heute Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen mit Berliner Künstlern, Musikern und DJs im internationalen Rahmen. Vor Kurzem erschien ihr Album "Tacoma" bei Moabit, einem Schwesterlabel von Monika Enterprise.

Sonae veröffentlichte im August 2012 bei dem Ambient- und Electronica-Label "A Strangely Isolated Place" ihren Erstling: die EP "Cologne" mit zwei Stücken. 2013 folgte ihr Remix von Markus Guentners "Saint", ein Compilation-Release für "Entmutigt", sowie "Song of Hate and Anger", das als letzter Track auf Markus Guentners exklusivem Mixtape für das Substrata Festival erschien, bei dem auch Künstler wie Ismael Pinkler, Gustavo Lamas und Rafael Anton Irisarri auftraten.

Ihre Leidenschaft für Avantgarde-Sound führte die Kolumbianerin Lucrecia Dalt zuerst nach Spanien und später nach Deutschland, wo sie heute lebt und arbeitet. Dalts Musik ist hochtechnisch, bewahrt sich dabei jedoch die Emotionalität: Zugängliche Melodien verbindet sie mit abstrakten Strukturen, handgefertigten Effekten und Sampling.

Jochen Irmler war 1971 Gründungsmitglied der legendären deutschen Krautrock-Band "Faust". Über sein gemeinsames Projekt mit Gudrun Gut schrieb Max Dax 2015 in seiner Einleitung: "Dass Jochen Irmler und Gudrun Gut eines Tages ihre besten Qualitäten in ein gemeinsames Projekt einbringen würden, war nicht wirklich zu erwarten. Wir hören Irmlers mäandernden, wehmütig psychedelischen Orgelsound, der aus einer anderen Zeit zu stammen scheint. Beide musikalischen Ansätze – hier Irmlers Krautrock-typische Bereitschaft, in neue Sphären vorzudringen, dort Guts strukturierte, technoide Berliner Disziplin (gleichsam ein Widerspruch in sich selbst) – vereinigen sich in funkelnder Schönheit auf dem gemeinsamen Album '500m'."

Die Veranstaltung fand im Rahmen von Improvise NOW!!! Part 1 – Into the Machine: From Turntable to Laptop statt.

"Improvise NOW!!!" ist eine Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut.


"Monika Werkstatt"

30.04.16

Stretch your view


Stretch your view


Konzert

Moritz von Oswald Trio

29.04.16

Moritz von Oswalds langjähriger Kollege Max Loderbauer und der legendäre nigerianische Drummer Tony Allen komplettieren die jüngste Ausgabe des Moritz von Oswald Trios. MEHR


Konzert, Video

EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN

27.06.15

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung "'Geniale Dilletanten'. Subkultur der 1980er-Jahre in Deutschland" findet ein Konzert der Berliner Band EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN im Haus der Kunst statt. MEHR


Konzert, Video

Doppelkonzert: Ornament und Verbrechen / Die Goldenen Zitronen

08.10.15

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung "Geniale Dilletanten" treten Ornament und Verbrechen und Die Goldenen Zitronen erstmals gemeinsam auf. MEHR


Konzert, Video

Hanne Darboven: 24 Gesänge

04.12.15

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung zu Hanne Darboven wurde das Orgelkonzert "24 Gesänge", eine Komposition der Konzeptkünstlerin, in der Münchner Markuskirche aufgeführt. MEHR


Konzert

FMP: The Living Music – Konzerte

Freitag, 05.05, 20 Uhr

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung „Free Music Production / FMP: The Living Music“ hat das Haus der Kunst in Zusammenarbeit mit Peter Brötzmann zwei Tage kuratiert, die im Sinne des Total Music Meeting und des Workshop Freie Musik gestaltet sind. MEHR


Konzert

FMP: The Living Music – Konzerte

Samstag, 06.05, 19 Uhr

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung "Free Music Production / FMP: The Living Music" hat das Haus der Kunst in Zusammenarbeit mit Peter Brötzmann zwei Tage kuratiert, die im Sinne des Total Music Meeting und des Workshop Freie Musik gestaltet sind. MEHR


Konzertreihe

Konzertreihe zur Ausstellung "ECM — Eine kulturelle Archäologie"

Die erste große Ausstellung über das renommierte Münchner Plattenlabel ECM wurde über ihre gesamte Laufzeit von einer Konzertreihe in namhafter Besetzung begleitet. MEHR


AUSSTELLUNG

ECM

23.11.12 – 10.02.13

Das Label ECM (Edition of Contemporary Music) wurde 1969 von Manfred Eicher in München gegründet, um improvisierte und Avantgarde-Musik einzuspielen, zu produzieren und zu veröffentlichen. MEHR


Gespräch, Video

Improvising Africa

29.04.16

Gespräch und Musik mit Eddie Hatitye (Music in Africa Foundation) und Stefan Schneider (ex-Kreidler und To Rococo Rot) MEHR


Gespräch, Video

The Sound and Vision of Amon Düül II

30.04.16

Gespräch mit Tobias Pettersson, Autor von "Amon Düül II and the birth of Krautrock", und Alexander Kluge, der seinen Film über Improvisation präsentiert. MEHR