Hans Haacke: Gift Horse

EXHIBITION 27.04 – 20.08.17

Haus der Kunst is proud to present Hans Haacke's celebrated monumental sculpture, Gift Horse (2015). Originally commissioned by the City of London as the tenth contribution for the "Fourth Plinth" on Trafalgar Square, the project opened amidst controversies surrounding the excesses of the City government and economic austerity during the financial crisis and is also linked to current social and political conditions across the world. In this way, Gift Horse could not be more timely.

Based on an etching by the English painter George Stubbs, Gift Horse is a bronze cast of an equine skeleton without a mount. An electric ribbon is fastened to the horse's front leg and broadcasts a live ticker of the London Stock Exchange, which in Munich will be substituted with live broadcasts from the Frankfurt Stock Exchange. Meticulously researched, the sculpture directly references the equestrian statue of William IV originally planned for the plinth and signifies the connection between wealth, power, and history.

According to Haacke, the genesis of his proposal was explore the relationship of the monument to representations of political:
"I was one of six artists invited to submit proposals for the Fourth Plinth on the northwest corner of Trafalgar Square. The plinth had been empty for more than 150 years. George IV, whose equestrian statue graces the plinth in the northeast corner, had spent so much money during his reign that there was not enough left for his successor, his younger brother William IV, to also get a ride on a bronze horse.
After scrapping several ideas, I thought it might be appropriate to allude to the custom of immortalizing rulers on horseback. (I am not the first of the Fourth Plinth artists to do that). Mine was to be a horse skeleton, adorned with a live decoration—and no rider.
Part of the proposal for the Fourth Plinth was the inclusion of an image of what it eventually would look like. Having no experience with horse skeletons—I believe I am not unique in this regard—I asked a librarian whether she knew of any relevant publications. She directed me to The Anatomy of the Horse by George Stubbs. I knew paintings by Stubbs of horses and the English horseback-riding gentry from visits to the Tate. But I had no idea that Stubbs, the son of a tanner, had personally dissected horses, and had published engravings of his findings in The Anatomy of the Horse. I then discovered that a portrait of Whistlejacket, a rearing Arabian horse—commissioned by its owner, Charles Watson-Wentworth, the second Marquess of Rockingham—was hanging in the center of a major gallery of the National Gallery, just behind Trafalgar Square. This Marquess was twice a Whig prime minister of England and, according to Wikipedia, 'exceptionally rich even by the standards of that wealthy group'. As for whether the Gift Horse is a memorial or a monument, if you like, you can take it as a tribute to the City, the Wall Street of London."

Following its successful presentation in London and based on discussions with Haacke, Haus der Kunst will present Gift Horse in the museum's monumental Middle Hall as a way to further develop a response to public representations of power that are common in many European public squares and buildings. This sculpture is especially of great interest in its link to contemporary representations of power, value, wealth, and political commemoration. As visitors enter the space of Haus der Kunst's Middle Hall, they will be brought in direct confrontation with Gift Horse, mounted on a monumental pedestal, as a response to the ceremonial and propagandistic nature of the former Ehrenhalle. The sculptural attributes of Haacke's incisive reflection on power offers a counterpoint to the monumental scale of the Middle Hall, especially within the context of the discussions surrounding the upcoming renovation of Haus der Kunst.

Curated by Ulrich Wilmes

Courtesy Paula Cooper Gallery, New York © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn

Stretch your view


Stretch your view


EXHIBITION

Frank Bowling: Mappa Mundi

23.06.17 – 07.01.18

The comprehensive overview presents rare and never-before exhibited large-scale paintings along with other works by the Guyanese-born British painter Frank Bowling. MORE


EXHIBITION

Kiki Smith — Procession

02.02 – 03.06.18

"Procession" embraces the multifaceted practice of American artist Kiki Smith and maps its development into the present day. MORE


Video

Hans Haacke / Movie

Exhibition — Hans Haacke: Gift Horse. Film with english subtitles. MORE


Publication

Postwar: Art Between the Pacific and the Atlantic, 1945–1965 - Exhibition Guide

MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Frank Bowling

Wednesday, 26.07, 2 pm

Frank Bowling introduces us to a new sensation of space! The large format of his paintings draws us into his world of images. Can colour create a sense of space? MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Frank Bowling

Saturday, 29.07, 2 pm

Frank Bowling introduces us to a new sensation of space! The large format of his paintings draws us into his world of images. Can colour create a sense of space? MORE


Free First Thursday

Thursday, 03.08, 6 pm

Every 1st Thursday of the month, the entry is free of charge between 6 and 10 pm. MORE


Opening

After-Opening Party

Thursday, 14.09, 7 pm

We bid farewell to another summer – and ring in our autumn program: Haus der Kunst opens its four new exhibitions. MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Frank Bowling

Saturday, 23.09, 2 pm

Frank Bowling introduces us to a new sensation of space! The large format of his paintings draws us into his world of images. Can colour create a sense of space? MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Frank Bowling

Saturday, 28.10, 2 pm

Frank Bowling introduces us to a new sensation of space! The large format of his paintings draws us into his world of images. Can colour create a sense of space? MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Frank Bowling

02.07.17, 10 am

Splash, drip, pour, splatter ... an experiment with colour: In Frank Bowling's paintings, there is much to discover. Shells, packaging material, finds from his studio and much more cover his pictures. MORE


Permanent Exhibition

Archive Gallery 2017/18

18.07.17 – 04.02.18

The focus is the summer of 1937 in Munich, when the new Haus der Deutschen Kunst opened with the first "Große Deutsche Kunstausstellung", and the vilified show "Entartete Kunst" [Degenerate Art] was presented concurrently in the gallery building in the nearby Hofgarten MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Thomas Struth

Saturday, 29.07, 11 am

Art Lab III – Paradises: Inspired by the Thomas Struth exhibition, we create our own paradises, using materials we collect in the English Garden or find in our studio. MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Thomas Struth

Wednesday, 09.08, 10 am

Art Lab III – Paradises: Inspired by the Thomas Struth exhibition, we create our own paradises, using materials we collect in the English Garden or find in our studio. MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Frank Bowling

Wednesday, 16.08, 10 am

Splash, drip, pour, splatter ... an experiment with colour: In Frank Bowling's paintings, there is much to discover. Shells, packaging material, finds from his studio and much more cover his pictures. MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Frank Bowling

Saturday, 19.08, 11 am

Art Lab II: Colours tell stories – Who are you? Where do you come from? The outlines of countries and continents can be discovered in many of Frank Bowling’s Map Paintings. Together, we discover the maps in his exhibition, before we go into the studio to experiment with maps, paint and brushes. Who am I? MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Thomas Struth

Wednesday, 23.08, 10 am

Art Lab III – Paradises: Inspired by the Thomas Struth exhibition, we create our own paradises, using materials we collect in the English Garden or find in our studio. MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Frank Bowling

Wednesday, 30.08, 10 am

Splash, drip, pour, splatter ... an experiment with colour: In Frank Bowling's paintings, there is much to discover. Shells, packaging material, finds from his studio and much more cover his pictures. MORE


Ages 8 and up / German, Ages 8 and up / German

Thomas Struth

Saturday, 02.09, 2 pm

In the exhibition, the famous artist Thomas Struth presents his own individual views of people. In the studio, you create your own novel and individual portraits: professional photographers show you how to create impressive photographs that are "more than just snapshots". MORE


Workshop 6 until 12 years

Thomas Struth

Wednesday, 06.09, 10 am

Art Lab III – Paradises: Inspired by the Thomas Struth exhibition, we create our own paradises, using materials we collect in the English Garden or find in our studio. MORE

Hans Haacke: Gift Horse

AUSSTELLUNG 27.04 – 20.08.17

Das Haus der Kunst freut sich, Hans Haackes gefeierte Monumentalplastik Gift Horse (2015) in seinen Räumen zeigen zu können. Ursprünglich im Auftrag der City of London als zehnter Beitrag für den Skulpturensockel "Fourth Plinth" am Trafalgar Square entstanden, wurde dieses Werk inmitten hitziger Debatten über die Ausgabefreudigkeit der Stadtverwaltung in Zeiten eisernen Sparens während der Finanzkrise enthüllt und dadurch auch in einen Zusammenhang mit den aktuellen sozialen und politischen Verhältnissen überall auf der Welt gebracht. So gesehen hätte Gift Horse zu keinem sinnfälligeren Zeitpunkt entstehen können.

Die Bronzeplastik stellt, basierend auf einer Radierung des englischen Malers George Stubbs, ein Pferdeskelett ohne Sattelzeug dar. Ein elektrisches, an einem Vorderbein des Pferdes befestigtes Laufschriftband zeigt in Echtzeit übertragene Kurse der Londoner Aktienbörse an, die in München durch einen Live-Ticker der Frankfurter Börse ersetzt werden. Die Arbeit nimmt unmittelbar Bezug auf ein nie ausgeführtes Reiterstandbild von König Wilhelm IV., das ursprünglich für den Sockel vorgesehen war, und versinnbildlicht das Zusammenwirken von Reichtum, Macht und imperialer Geschichte.

Wie Haacke erläutert, entstand sein Projektvorschlag aus der eingehenden Auseinandersetzung mit dem Ort und der Bedeutung des Denkmals für die politische Repräsentation:
"Ich wurde als einer von sechs Künstlern eingeladen, einen Vorschlag für den vierten Sockel an der nordwestlichen Ecke des Trafalgar Square einzureichen. Der Sockel stand seit 150 Jahren leer. Georg IV., dessen Reiterstatue einen Sockel an der Nordostecke ziert, hatte in seiner Regierungszeit so viel Geld ausgegeben, dass es unter dem Nachfolger, seinem jüngeren Bruder Wilhelm IV., nicht mehr für einen Ritt auf dem Bronzepferd reichte.
Nachdem ich mehrere Einfälle verworfen hatte, schien mir eine Bezugnahme auf den Brauch, Herrscher auf Pferderücken zu verewigen, angebracht. (Ich bin nicht der erste Fourth Plinth-Künstler, der das tut.) Meine Verewigung sollte ein Pferdegerippe mit Live-Verzierung sein – und keinen Reiter haben.
Zum Projektvorschlag für den Fourth Plinth gehörte ein Bild, dem man entnehmen konnte, wie das Ganze am Ende aussehen würde. Da ich keinerlei Kenntnis von Pferdeskeletten besaß (auch was das angeht, bin ich wohl nicht der einzige), fragte ich eine Bibliothekarin, ob sie einschlägige Publikationen kannte. Sie verwies mich auf The Anatomy of the Horse von George Stubbs. Von meinen Besuchen in der Tate kannte ich Stubbs als Maler von Pferden und englischen Adeligen auf Pferderücken. Aber mir war neu, dass er als Sohn eines Gerbers eigenhändig Pferde seziert und seine Beobachtungen als Radierungen in diesem Buch veröffentlicht hatte. Dann fand ich heraus, dass gleich in nächster Nähe des Trafalgar Square ein Porträt von Whistlejacket, einem sich aufbäumenden Araberhengst, das sein Besitzer Charles Watson-Wentworth, zweiter Marquis von Rockingham, in Auftrag gegeben hatte, in einem großen Saal der National Gallery hängt. Dieser Marquis war ein Whig und zweimaliger Premierminister und laut Wikipedia 'selbst nach den Maßstäben dieser wohlhabenden Kreise außergewöhnlich reich'.
Ob Gift Horse nun ein Denkmal oder ein Mahnmal ist – betrachten Sie es vielleicht einfach als meine Reverenz an die City, die Wallstreet von London."

Nach seiner erfolgreichen Enthüllung in London wird Gift Horse in Absprache mit Haacke am Haus der Kunst in der monumentalen Mittelhalle gezeigt, um so eine weitere Ebene der Resonanz auf die für viele europäische Plätze und Gebäude bestimmende öffentliche Machtdarstellung zu eröffnen. Denn diese Plastik ist insbesondere in ihrer Anknüpfung an zeitgenössische Zurschaustellungen von Macht, Wert, Reichtum und politischem Gedächtnis interessant. Unmittelbar beim Betreten der Mittelhalle im Haus der Kunst werden die Besucher mit dem, auf einem monumentalen Sockel aufgestellten Gift Horse, als eine Antwort auf die zeremoniell aufgeladene und propagandistische Vergangenheit der ehemaligen Ehrenhalle konfrontiert. Es steht in Erinnerung an die zeremonielle und propagandistische Funktion der ehemaligen Ehrenhalle auf einem wuchtigen Piedestal. Die skulpturale Qualität von Haackes scharfsinniger Reflexion von Macht bildet einen Gegensatz zur monumentalen Dimension der Mittelhalle und bereichert so auch die Diskussion über die bevorstehende Renovierung des Hauses der Kunst.

Kuratiert von Ulrich Wilmes

Courtesy Paula Cooper Gallery, New York © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn

Stretch your view


Stretch your view


AUSSTELLUNG

Harun Farocki: Counter Music

10.03 – 28.05.17

"Harun Farocki: Counter Music" im Haus der Kunst greift auf das umfangreiche, von humanistischem, anarchistischem und ästhetischem Kampfgeist geprägte Gesamtwerk des Deutschen Künstlers zurück. MEHR


AUSSTELLUNG

Thomas Struth: Figure Ground

05.05 – 17.09.17

Die Übersichtsausstellung von Thomas Struth präsentiert erstmals eine Auswahl seiner umfassenden Werkgruppen unter dem Aspekt des sozialen Interesses, das die Entwicklung seines künstlerischen, explizit international angelegten Werks durchzieht. MEHR


AUSSTELLUNG

Frank Bowling: Mappa Mundi

23.06.17 – 07.01.18

Die umfassende Überblicksausstellung zeigt seltene und noch nie zuvor ausgestellte große Gemälde und andere Arbeiten des in Guyana geborenen britischen Künstlers. MEHR


Publikation

Postwar: Kunst zwischen Pazifik und Atlantik, 1945-1965 - Ausstellungsführer

14.10.16

MEHR


Künstlergespräch

Thomas Struth: Figure Ground

Freitag, 16.06, 18 Uhr

Anlässlich der Ausstellung "Thomas Struth: Figure Ground" spricht der Künstler Thomas Struth mit dem Literaturwissenschaftler Andreas Huyssen. MEHR


Talks & Tours

Thomas Struth

Dienstag, 23.05, 18.30 Uhr

Talks & Tours durch die Ausstellung "Thomas Struth: Figure Ground" mit Frank Bungarten und Ulrich Wilmes MEHR


Workshop ab 8 Jahren

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 27.05, 14 Uhr

Wir erfinden und basteln eigenen Charaktere und lassen sie lebendig werden. Wir erzählen eine Geschichte. Wer gern schneidet und klebt ist hier genau richtig! MEHR


Workshop 6-12 Jahre

Harun Farocki

Samstag, 27.05, 11 Uhr

Der Arbeit auf der Spur. Ein Workshop zu Film, Fotografie und Collage. MEHR


Vortrag

Vortrag von Jelena Vesić

Donnerstag, 01.06, 19 Uhr

Herzliche Begegnung mit den Anderen: Das künstlerische Leben der Pioneer-Plakette und das (post)koloniale Unbehagen am Universalbild des Menschen. Vortrag von Jelena Vesić, Goethe-Institut Postdoctoral Fellow am Haus der Kunst MEHR


Workshop 6-12 Jahre

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 03.06, 11 Uhr

Kunstlabor II – Familienporträt: Thomas Struth hat viele verschieden Familien auf der ganzen Welt besucht um Fotos von ihnen zu machen. Woher kommt deine Familie? Und wer gehört alles dazu? MEHR


Workshop ab 8 Jahren

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 10.06, 14 Uhr

Eine ganz eigene Sicht auf Menschen zeigt uns in der Ausstellung der berühmte Künstler Thomas Struth. Wir erproben dann selbst neue, absolut individuelle Porträts: Profi-Fotografen zeigen euch, wie ihr tolle Fotos gestaltet und einfach mal "mehr als einen Schnappschuss" machen könnt. MEHR


Workshop 6-12 Jahre

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 17.06, 11 Uhr

Kunstlabor III – Paradiese: Inspiriert von der Ausstellung Thomas Struth lassen wir unsere eigenen Paradiese entstehen; aus Materialien die wir im Englischen Garten sammeln, oder bei uns im Atelier finden. MEHR


Workshop 13-17 Jahre

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 24.06, 11 Uhr

Dieser Workshop zeigt deine Möglichkeiten, besondere Fotos zu machen und neue Motivideen zu finden. Entdecke mit uns künstlerische Möglichkeiten mit der Hilfe von Profi-Fotografen an deiner Seite! MEHR


Workshop 6-12 Jahre

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 01.07, 11 Uhr

Kunstlabor IV – Deine Stadt – deine Straße. Von Düsseldorf bis New York – Thomas Struth führt uns mit seinen Straßenbildern um die ganze Welt. Wir holen uns Ideen in der Ausstellung und werden dann im Atelier zu Architekten und Städteplanern. MEHR


Workshop 6-12 Jahre

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 15.07, 11 Uhr

Kunstlabor I – Zukunftslabore: Thomas Struth zeigt auf seinen Fotos viele unbekannte Orte. Im Atelier erschaffen wir unsere eigenen dreidimensionalen Modelle, was dort passiert bestimmst du! MEHR


Workshop ab 8 Jahren

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 22.07, 14 Uhr

Wir erfinden und basteln eigenen Charaktere und lassen sie lebendig werden. Wir erzählen eine Geschichte. Wer gern schneidet und klebt ist hier genau richtig! MEHR


Workshop 6-12 Jahre

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 29.07, 11 Uhr

Kunstlabor III – Paradiese: Inspiriert von der Ausstellung Thomas Struth lassen wir unsere eigenen Paradiese entstehen; aus Materialien die wir im Englischen Garten sammeln, oder bei uns im Atelier finden. MEHR


Workshop ab 8 Jahren

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 02.09, 14 Uhr

Eine ganz eigene Sicht auf Menschen zeigt uns in der Ausstellung der berühmte Künstler Thomas Struth. Wir erproben dann selbst neue, absolut individuelle Porträts: Profi-Fotografen zeigen euch, wie ihr tolle Fotos gestaltet und einfach mal "mehr als einen Schnappschuss" machen könnt. MEHR


Workshop 6-12 Jahre

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 09.09, 11 Uhr

Kunstlabor IV – Deine Stadt – deine Straße: Von Düsseldorf bis New York – Thomas Struth führt uns mit seinen Straßenbildern um die ganze Welt. Wir holen uns Ideen in der Ausstellung und werden dann im Atelier zu Architekten und Städteplanern. MEHR


Workshop ab 8 Jahren

Thomas Struth

Samstag, 16.09, 14 Uhr

Wir erfinden und basteln eigenen Charaktere und lassen sie lebendig werden. Wir erzählen eine Geschichte. Wer gern schneidet und klebt ist hier genau richtig! MEHR