History at historical sites: Munich as a central cultivator of the NSDAP

top sex sites Workshop Saturday, 07.10, 9:30 am

skype online chat video History at historical sites: Munich as a central cultivator of the NSDAP
In cooperation with the NS-Dokumentationszentrum München

Munich had a special function as a National Socialist art metropolis; as the center of the NSDAP’s party apparatus; and as a site of the cult of the party.  Adolf Hitler declared the city the “capital of German art” and the “capital of the movement.”

Until 1945, Munich was the seat of the NSDAP’s headquarters. The Königsplatz and its surroundings constituted the centre of the party’s administration. The first representative buildings of the Nazi regime were the “Führerbau” (now the Academy of Music and Theatre), the “NSDAP Administrative Building” (today the Culture Institutes Building) and the “Brown Building” (now the site of the new NS-Dokumentationszentrum München). In addition, from 1935 on, the Königsplatz with its two “Temples of Hounour” served as the centre of “martyrdom”, honouring the 16 men who died in 9 November 1923 coup attempt.

As the “capital of German art”, the city played a central role in the implementation of Nazi art ideology and propaganda. Opened in 1937, the “Haus der Deutschen Kunst” (today Haus der Kunst) served a key function for the presentation of National Socialist art policy and, in this context, was the authoritative art institution. Until 1944/45, the “Great German Art Exhibitions”, the most important presentation and sales venue for “German” art, took place here.

Within the framework of the workshop, participants will visit both the NS-Dokumentationszentrum and Haus der Kunst and learn about the history of these historical sites. The seminar will explore the former function of the “Brown Building”, the Königsplatz and the “Haus der Deutschen Kunst” and their function as instruments pf Nazi propaganda, as well as their architectural conception and their use after 1945. What role do the structural background of the Nazi regime play in our contemporary debate about the National Socialist legacy? Together with the workshop leaders, participants will view and analyze documents and materials from Haus der Kunst’s Historical Archive.

Speakers
Felizitas Raith, research assistant at the NS-Dokumentationszentrum München in the field of education
Thomas Rink, research assistant at the NS-Dokumentationszentrum München in the field of education
Sabine Brantl, curator of the Historical Archive and head of educational programs at Haus der Kunst

The workshop takes place in the NS-Dokumentationszentrum, Briennerstraße 34 and Haus der Kunst, Prinzregentenstraße 1.

Meeting point: NS-Dokumentationszentrum, Briennerstraße 34
Duration: 6,5 hours (including one break)
Ticket: 10 euros
Limited number of participants; registration at: archiv(at)hausderkunst.de
School classes by appointment

The architect Paul Ludwig Troost with the model of the “Haus der Deutschen Kunst”, August 1933. Photo: BayerischeStaatsbibliothek, Munich / Bildarchiv

Stretch your view


Stretch your view

Geschichte am historischen Ort: München als zentrale Kultstätte der NSDAP

Workshop Samstag, 07.10, 9.30 Uhr

how to get through a breakup Geschichte am historischen Ort: München als zentrale Kultstätte der NSDAP
in Kooperation mit dem NS-Dokumentationszentrum München

München hatte eine besondere Funktion als nationalsozialistische Kunstmetropole, als Zentrum des Parteiapparats der NSDAP und als Ort des Parteikults. Die Stadt erhielt von Adolf Hitler die Titel „Hauptstadt der Deutschen Kunst“ und „Hauptstadt der Bewegung“.

München war bis 1945 Sitz der Reichsleitung der NSDAP. Das Umfeld des Königsplatzes bildete das Zentrum der Parteiorganisation. Hier entstand mit dem „Führerbau“ (heute Hochschule für Musik und Theater), dem „Verwaltungsbau der NSDAP“ (heute Haus der Kulturinstitute) sowie dem „Braunen Haus“ (heute Neubau des NS-Dokumentationszentrums) das erste repräsentative Bauensemble des NS-Regimes. Zudem war der Königsplatz mit den beiden „Ehrentempeln“ (1947 bis auf die Sockel gesprengt) ab 1935 zentraler Ort des „Märtyrerkults“ für die 16 Toten des Putschversuchs vom 9. November 1923.

Als „Hauptstadt der Deutschen Kunst“ fiel der Stadt eine zentrale Rolle bei der Umsetzung der Ideologie und Propaganda des NS-Regimes in der Kunst zu. Das 1937 eröffnete „Haus der Deutschen Kunst“ (heute Haus der Kunst) hatte eine Schlüsselfunktion für die Demonstration nationalsozialistischer Kunstpolitik und war in diesem Zusammenhang die maßgebende Institution. Hier fand bis 1944/45 jährlich die „Große Deutsche Kunstausstellung“ statt, die wichtigste Werk- und Verkaufsschau „deutscher“ Kunst.

Im Rahmen des Workshops werden die beiden Standorte NS-Dokumentationszentrum und Haus der Kunst besucht und ihre Geschichte am historischen Ort erläutert. Das Seminar diskutiert die ehemalige Funktion des „Braunen Hauses“, des Königsplatzes und des „Hauses der Deutschen Kunst“ als Propagandainstrumente der Nationalsozialisten, ihre architektonische Konzeption sowie ihre Nutzungsgeschichte nach 1945. Welche Rolle spielen die baulichen Hinterlassenschaften des NS-Regimes für unsere heutige Auseinandersetzung mit dem nationalsozialistischen Erbe? Die Teilnehmer erhalten im Rahmen des Workshops Einblick in Dokumente und Materialien aus dem Bestand des Historischen Archivs des Haus der Kunst, die gemeinsam  analysiert werden.

Referenten
Felizitas Raith, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am NS-Dokumentationszentrum München im Bereich Bildung
Thomas Rink, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im NS-Dokumentationszentrum München im Bereich Bildung
Sabine Brantl, Kuratorin Archiv und Leitung Bildungsprogramme am Haus der Kunst

Der Workshop findet im  NS-Dokumentationszentrum, Brienner Straße 34 und im Haus der Kunst, Prinzregentenstraße 1 statt.

Treffpunkt: NS-Dokumentationszentrum, Brienner Straße 34
Dauer: 6,5 Stunden (mit Pause)
Ticket: 10 EUR
Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl – Anmeldung unter: archiv (at) hausderkunst.de
Für Schulklassen nach Vereinbarung

Der Architekt Paul Ludwig Troost vor dem Modell des „Hauses der Deutsche Kunst“, August 1933. Foto: Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, München / Bildarchiv

Stretch your view


Stretch your view